Sunday, February 19, 2012

I Can Ride a Bike with No Handle Bars...

3 comments
Welcome to the segment here on Spikey Bits, where I go over some rules clarifications and "gotchas" for 5th Edition.

I realize that there may only be less than a year left for this rules set, but there is still tons of time for gaming!

Not to mention there are a  few big tournaments left to attend as well.  So let's get to it shall we?

Today we have a guest post by Master Shake about Independent Characters. He is very blunt and to the point with his posts (and in real life too for that matter), but none the less effective.

Some people (mostly ork players) like to get Independent character rules wrong regarding joining and leaving units.

It is common for some players to attach Ghazghkull to a unit of 30 boys... which in turn causes the entire unit to suffer from slow and purposeful.

Those players often then declare that Ghazghkull is leaving the unit to trudge ahead. Let's say for instance that he moves 4". They then take the boy unit he was with and moves them up '6 and re-attaches Ghaz to them. This is not legal....

An independent character only counts as having left a unit if he is out of coherency with it at the END of the movement phase, so he can't leave the unit and rejoin it in the same turn.

This also means that should you join a normal infantry IC to a squad of jump troops, the jump troops may only move a max of 6" in the same turn the IC left.

Some people also have a tendency to 'say' an IC has left a unit, but if he ends his move within '2 of another unit, he's a part of it regardless of the intentions of the controlling player.

Another point to remember is that if you have an IC as part of a heavy weapons squad and then move him out of of the unit, the heavy weapons team still counts as having moved and so can't fire.

These are just some things to remember, especially at tournements, where Ghaz getting across the board one turn sooner can be huge.

Short and to the point. You can checkout Shakes blog, Grotzilla! where he rages about all sorts of things from badly painted armies to scourges of the internets.

Get 20% OFF Bits, and FREE SHIPPING WORLDWIDE??!! Over at the Spikey Bits Online Storeall bits are 20% OFF, and most ship for FREE, Worldwide!

3 comments:

Michael Hogan(Xethik) said...

I believe you may be off with the IC making the unit count as moving when leaving a heavy weapon squad.

Page 48.
"If an independent character moves and joins or leaves a unit that did not move, the character counts as having moved in the ensuing Shooting phase, but the unit does not."

Master Shake said...

Correct.. my bad.

Michael Hogan(Xethik) said...

If everyone could recall every rule in a moment's notice with perfect clarity, we wouldn't need articles like this.
Missing small tidbits happen, no biggy.

Post a Comment

 
Spikey Bits is a blog about the hobby of Warhammer 40k and Fantasy Battles, both tabletop wargames.

Powered by : Blogger